Service Areas

userway ADA
Civil Service
Deputies within the Patrol Services Unit are guided by the Eagle County Sheriff’s Office mission statement:

"Our mission is to serve the people of Eagle County by promoting and maintaining a sense of peace and cooperation throughout our community and improving the quality of life through excellence."

Patrol deputies provide law enforcement services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to the residents of unincorporated Eagle County including Eagle-Vail, Burns, Edwards, El Jebel, Bond, McCoy, Minturn and Dotsero, as well as to the towns of Gypsum and Red Cliff. Members of Patrol Services strive to control crime and improve the quality of life within our community.

Enforcement of laws includes:

  • Traffic laws - Model Traffic Code for Colorado and C.R.S. Title 42 Article 4
  • Eagle County Traffic Ordinance
  • Colorado Criminal Code - See Colorado Revised Statutes-Title 18
  • Civil Service - See Civil Process Services
Jurisdiction & Service areas: Unincorporated areas of Eagle County are patrolled by officers assigned to each District, including some Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management (BLM) areas. All districts border each other. The districts and the areas covered in each are described below:

  • District 1 - Area covered is east of Edwards to the top of Vail Pass (Summit County line) to Tennessee Pass on U.S. Hwy 24 (Lake County line). Communities included are Avon, Beaver Creek, Minturn, Vail, Red Cliff, Gilman and Eagle-Vail.
  • District 2 - Area covered is from Edwards west to approximately MM 156 on U. S. Hwy 6 and MM 153 on I -70 to the Routt and Grand county line north of McCoy on U.S. Hwy 131. Communities included are Edwards, Wolcott, Lake Creek, Squaw Creek, Cordillera, Bond and McCoy.
  • District 3 - Area covered is from MM 156 on U.S. Hwy 6 and MM 153 on I -70 west to the Garfield county line at Glenwood Canyon. Communities included are Eagle, Gypsum, Dotsero, Brush Creek, Sylvan Lake, Colorado River Road and Burns.
  • District 4 - Area covered is from the Garfield County line east to Pitkin County. Communities included are El Jebel, Basalt, Frying Pan Rd, Ruedi Reservoir, and Missouri Heights.
Colorado Outdoor Recreation Search and Rescue (CORSAR) Card Information: 
UPDATE: DOLA's online CORSAR Card point of sale system will be deactivated on February 29.  At that time, all card sales will be completed through IPAWS, the Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) point of sale system. IPAWS is the same system used to sell hunting and fishing licenses at retailers and online. As such, cards may be purchased online through the "Buy and Apply"  on the CPW website or at any store that sells hunting and fishing licenses. Here is the direct link to purchase a CORSAR Card through CPW: 
planned rate increase for CORSAR cards will begin on March 1.  The 1-year card will be going up from $3 to $5; The 5-year card will go from $12 to $20.    
The BSAR program has historically sold bulk CORSAR stickers to vendors for resale. Once stickers are sold to consumers, the stickers can be registered for a CORSAR Card at any CPW office location. There is an opportunity for us to work with vendors to develop and produce customized partnership stickers. If you are interested in becoming a vendor for CORSAR Card stickers, please connect with me directly by phone or email. 
The IHELPSEARCH.ORG redirect will continue to direct consumers to the appropriate CORSAR Card purchase pages and program information.  
To learn more about the CORSAR Card or BSAR Program at CPW, click here

ecg tv